Position:HOme > Knowledge > Smart Measurement

How to classify electric energy meters?

Source:Wasion group Author:admin Date:2012/10/26 14:41:16

1. According to measuring principles, electric energy meters can be classified as induction meter (mechanical meter), mechatronics energy meter and electronic energy meter.

2. According to their types, electric energy meters include: DD28 (single phase), DT862 (three phase, four wire), DS862 (three phase, four wire), DX862 (three phase, var hour), DSSD (three phase, three wire, electronic, multifunctional), and DTSD (three phase, four wire, electronic, multifunctional), of which the first letter D stands for energy meter; as for the second letter, D for single phase and watt hour, X for three wire and var hour, S for three phase, three wire and watt hour and T for three phase, four wire and watt hour; for the third letter, S stands for full electronic; for the fourth letter, D represents multifunction; the following numbers are serial number. Currently, the energy meters that we have used in classified measurement projects are full-electronic and multifunctional energy meters, including DTSD719, 720 and DTSD341.

3. According to their specifications, energy meters can be divided into: 
    Three phase and three wire: reference voltage: 3X100V
    Three phase and four wire: reference voltage: 3X57.7V/100V, 3X220V/380V
    Single phase: reference voltage: 220V

4.  According to connection modes, energy meters can be classified as connection through transformers and direct connection.Current from connection through transformers: 3X0.3 (1.2) A, 3X0.5 (2) A, 3X1.5 (6) A, and 3X5 (10) A, etc.
Current from direct connection: 3X5 (20) A, 3X10 (40) A, and 3X20 (80) A, etc. Now current specifications of energy meters are mostly wide load. Take 3X5 (20) A as an example. 5 represents rated current and (20) stands for maximum current rating, four times the rated current.

5. According to measuring accuracy, energy meters can be classified as: watt-hour: class 0.2S, 0.5S, 0.5, 1.0 and 2.0; var-hour: class 0.5, 1.0 and 2.0.

6. According to purposes, energy meters can be divided into single phase energy meter, three-phase watt-hour energy meter, three-phase var-hour energy meter, maximum demand meter, multi-rate energy meter (time-based), multifunctional watthour meter, loss-of-voltage timer, copper loss meter, iron loss meter and prepayment energy meter, among others.